Posts Tagged ‘databases’

Where do I find University of Denver Dissertations?

Tuesday, February 18th, 2014

Recent dissertations (1997 to present) can be found in the University of Denver Dissertations database. This is a subset of the much larger ProQuest Dissertations & Theses database. Older dissertations can be searched in our library catalog. The easiest way to search for dissertations is to include “University of Denver” as part of your search term, then use the DISS/THESIS facet within the Encore catalog interface to restrict your results to dissertations and theses. Click here to execute this example search.

Older print copies of dissertations are kept in our Special Collections & Archives department. If you cannot locate a dissertation using the tools above, please contact the Research Center, and someone will assist you.

Where can I find information about world cultures?

Tuesday, December 18th, 2012

Although books, journal articles, documentaries, and other resources about different world cultures can be found in the library catalog and in many of our databases, one database in particular focuses on cultural information.

The eHRAF World Cultures provides summaries for hundreds of cultural and ethnic groups, from Abipón to Zuni, in addition to the full-text of recent and historical ethnographies.

The Human Relations Area Files (HRAF) organization was originally established in 1949 at Yale University to collaborate with other academic institutions to promote the “cross-cultural study of human behavior, society and culture” (HRAF website). The organization developed an extensive classification system, Outline of World Cultures and Outline of World Materials, that was used to index ethnographic material to the paragraph level in order to facilitate comparisons between particular aspects of select cultures.

The online eHRAF World Cultures database enables you to use this detailed indexing to find information from the source documents about particular subjects, such as those related to labor, arts, social stratification, religious beliefs, gender roles and issues, and education, either for a single culture or to compare subjects between selected cultural or ethnic groups. The search interface permits searching by keyword in the text of the documents or by specific cultures and Outline of World Materials codes.

One valuable feature of the database is the cultural summaries, which are offered for each cultural group. These summaries include information spanning from demography, linguistic affiliation, economy, and kinship to marriage and family, religion and expressive culture, and sociopolitical organization, in addition to indexing notes and a bibliography. Each culture overview also provides a description of and links to the full-text source documents. The cultures can be browsed by region, country, or alphabetically by name.

Although the database doesn’t cover every culture and ethnic group, there are many available from all regions of the world and new cultures are added every year. Forthcoming cultures include Albanians, Chachi, Eastern Apache, Goajiro, Kachin, Lesu, Manchu, Northern Paiute, Rural Irish, Timbira, and Turks, among several others.

Next time you need individual culture or cross-cultural information, give the eHRAF World Cultures a try.

Do alumni get access to online databases?

Monday, December 10th, 2012

Our subscription databases are licensed based on the number of current students only and the licenses do not allow for off-campus access by alumni.  Along with the Alumni Office, we have considered ways to allow access to alumni that would cover the additional cost of licensing for this group but found no workable solution.

Fortunately, there are several ways for you to access electronic content such as scholarly articles.  You are welcome to use most of our electronic resources from within the library.  If you live far from DU, ask your local research library what services and access they offer for community members.  Most public universities allow the public to use electronic resources from within the library.

Finally, public libraries license many databases, including those with scholarly content, for in-library and home use by their patrons as well as offering some level of interlibrary loan service for requesting books and articles.  Contact your local public library for more information on these services.

How do I resolve a database or article error?

Monday, May 7th, 2012

The University Libraries has a wealth of online resources for students, faculty and staff to use in conducting research. As of May 2012, we have over 700 electronic databases and well over 1.5 million links to electronic resources such as ebooks and government documents in our online catalog!

With this many digital resources, technical problems are bound to arise. Please don’t hesitate to contact the Research Center when you encounter problems accessing a database, an online article, an ebook or any other digital resource. Research Center staff can often troubleshoot the issue with you by phone, email or web chat. If needed, they will refer the problem on for resolution. Working with the content providers, our e-resources team can usually resolve issues the same day that they are reported.

The Research Center is open seven days a week, until midnight Sunday, Monday and Tuesday. You can reach us by phone (303-871-2905), email (research-help@du.edu), chat, or text (720-515-2150). Remember, we can’t fix problems until they are reported…Please let us know if you are experiencing problems or have questions!

Where did the client version of SciFinder Scholar go?

Tuesday, July 19th, 2011

The Chemical Abstract Service (CAS) is no longer maintaining access to the Chemical Abstracts database through the SciFinder client.  The most recent version of the software was 2007, and they wanted to focus their energies on the web-based version.  In order to access the database, you will need to register with your DU email address with the CAS.  (Note: you might have to confirm security exceptions in order to get to the registration page. This is ok.) Once you do so, then you can start using the service.

For more information, go to the SciFinder Research Guide.

“SciFinder is a research discovery tool that allows you to explore the CAS databases containing literature from many scientific disciplines including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering, materials science, agricultural science, and more!”

How can I get research help?

Monday, February 28th, 2011

The Research Center answers all levels of research questions – from basic to complex – seven days a week.    Our hours during the quarter are

  • Sunday, Noon – Midnight
  • Monday-Tuesday, 9 am – Midnight
  • Wednesday-Thursday, 9 am – 9 pm
  • Friday, 9 am – 5 pm
  • Saturday, 10 am – 6 pm

There are many ways to reach us

  • In person -  Main Level, Anderson Academic Commons
  • Phone – 303-871-2905
  • Text -720-515-2150
  • Email
  • Chat/IM

Research consultation appointments offer one-on-one help for students and faculty with subject specialist librarians.  These are available seven days a week as well.  Request an appointment online today!

Does the library have streamed videos?

Monday, February 14th, 2011

Penrose currently subscribes to five streamed video collections from Alexander Street Press: American History in Video; World History in Video; Counseling and Therapy in Video; Opera in Video; and Theatre in Video. These collections feature important opera and theatre productions, therapy sessions, documentaries, and historical newsreels that can be viewed in their entirety or mined for specific footage to be used in teaching or research.

All of the videos have been indexed, so that you can search and identify videos across multiple access points. For example, in the Theatre in Video database, you can search by keyword, director, actor, playwright, or company, among other options, and in Counseling and Therapy in Video, you can search by keyword in the transcript and notes field, or by therapy type, therapist’s name, and subjects (e.g., addictive behavior, cultural sensitivity, emotional trauma, self esteem), and limit by therapist or client details, such as age, gender, race, ethnicity, or sexual orientation.  Sequential thumbnail photos allow you to quickly peruse each scene within the video and navigate to the desired section.

The video collections can also be browsed by various categories, depending on the database, ranging from historical events, eras, people, and places (American History in Video) to ensembles, genres, roles, time periods and venues (Opera in Video). Additional features include the ability to make customized clips, which can be annotated and inserted into class assignments or put on reserve, and personal playlists.

The individual video collections can be found in the relevant subject database categories (e.g., History—American, History—World, Psychology, Social Work, Music, Performing Arts, Theatre), or by title in the database listings or in the library catalog. Here are brief descriptions of our streamed video collections:

American History in Video

The collection allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and the presentation of historical events over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries. This release now provides 5,741 titles, including the entire series of United News and Universal Newsreel, as well as documentaries by The History Channel, Bullfrog Films, and PBS.

World History in Video

A wide-ranging collection of critically-acclaimed documentaries that allow students and researchers to explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. The video content offered here is truly global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania. Our current release offers 312 English-language documentaries, with 1,750 documentaries planned on completion.

Counseling and Therapy in Video

Relevant for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling, this collection’s wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible. This current release includes 331 videos, covering therapy sessions, case consultations, lectures, and interviews, along with 55 teaching and discussion guides. Continuing Education (C.E.) credits are available for more than 75 of the videos in the collection.

Opera in Video

Contains over 250 of the most important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews, and documentaries. Selections represent the world’s best performers, conductors, and opera houses and are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon. The current release includes 161 videos.

Theatre in Video

This collection features performances of the world’s leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater. Some plays are presented in multiple productions, exemplifying various interpretations of the text and technical and cultural differences among the presentations. Stage work of directors and actors are cross-searchable and available for side-by-side comparison. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions. Our current version contains 360 videos.

Can the library provide greater access to my articles?

Wednesday, February 2nd, 2011

If you would like to provide greater access to the articles you have written for scholarly publishers, then you can check the database below to see if the publisher will allow the library (or other organizations) to provide open access to your articles.  Research has shown strong correlations between open access and higher citation rates.  Most scholarly publishers allow their authors to post versions of articles to websites such as Peak Digital.  For example, the IEEE and the American Institute of Physics allow authors to archive the publisher’s version/PDF.  The publisher Elsevier will allow you to archive your post-print (final draft post-refereed version).

Please use the Sherpa/Romeo database of journal and publisher copyright policies.

Search Journal titles or ISSNs

Publisher names
for
find All keywords

Exact phrase only

contains

starts with

Exact phrase only

ISSN
Show open access mandate compliance in results for:

If you haven’t published your article yet, then you could consider publishing your article in a completely open access journal. This will give everyone in the world a chance to view your scholarly work without needing a subscription to the content.  Please let us know if you have any other questions concerning open access resources.

Joe

I’m having trouble accessing a database or an article in a database…can you help?

Monday, December 20th, 2010

If you are experiencing any issues accessing articles in our electronic databases or accessing a database itself, please contact the Research Center at 303-871-2905,  research-help@du.edu, or by chat.  We can often troubleshoot the problem with you over the phone or by email/chat.

If an immediate solution cannot be found, we will refer the issue on to our e-resources troubleshooting team.  Many database access issues can be solved within 24 hours.

To help us resolve the issue for you more quickly, it will be helpful to know

  • if you are on or off-campus
  • what browser you are using
  • what article/journal/database are you attempting to access
  • what path you took to access the article/journal/database
  • if you are able to access other online library resources
  • if you are able to access your WebCentral account

Please let us know if you are having difficulties so we can both help you find the resources you need and solve database technical problems so they won’t affect other users.

How do I access Rosetta Stone?

Monday, December 6th, 2010

There are various ways to access Rosetta Stone.

1. On the Penrose Library website, type rosetta stone in the “Find Books and More” search box and click on “Search.”  The first two results will both lead you to the database.

2. Click on “Databases,” located immediately below the “Find Articles” search box.  On the next screen, you can either

  • click on “R” in “Alphabetical List of Databases” and scroll down until you see the link to Rosetta Stone
  • or select “Language Databases” in the “Search by Category” box and then click on “Submit.”